Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Day Two-Double Duty


This is my second home for the next 40 days-FYI this is the view from the back row.

Day Two-September 21, 2010

Holy cow(no pun intended).... I went 24 hours without eating meat.  Although I hear Chik-fil-a calling out to me on the way to yoga this morning.  No point stopping in since everything that is good there is made from chicken.  I also may have to add a new title to this challenge....."40 days of no sleep."  I left for yoga after working all night (7p-7a) at the hospital.  I knew if I didn't go right away there was a large chance I would not do my yoga for today and I didn't want to blog that I was a loser on the second day.  So I went to the 8:45 am Power Hour class.  After I changed into stretchy type clothes (aka-old running leggings), I went to pick a spot in the room.  Since it was my first  class where someone knew my name and I would have to see these people again I made sure I was in the back row (aka slacker row, tardy row, or row for people who don't want to get noticed-me!).  It was wall to wall and I was a little alarmed at how close bodies were.  I laid down on my mat and instantly noticed my neighbor's feet about three inches from my face.  I was so grateful only the wall was behind me and no one's face was in my toes-I am sure that would have smelled delicious after working for 12 hours.  I will be socially responsible and bring wet wipes to clean my feet should my coveted back row spot get taken.  I was about 15 minutes early.   Perfect-power nap time before power yoga time.  I felt like I was turning into butter as I laid on my mat right next to the space heater.  Ahhh.....wonderful white noise.  I hope I didn't snore.  My teacher Nancy led us through an hour of bendy stretchy posing stuff....I still am clueless when she would call out movements.  I don't think some of the class was in English either.  Wondered if I was the only one in class who had no idea what Chaturanga Dandasana and Utkatassana meant.  I do know that Savasana is my new favorite.....lay on your back....aka class is done.  I managed to make it through without falling on someone or slipping off my mat (it was like a slip-n-slide).  I even got a good job from my teacher.....she gets paid to say that.  Me and my jelly legs beat feet out of there to race home and get some blessed sleep.  Did cave and get a buttered biscuit from Chik-fil-a (but no chicken)-just wasn't the same.  I got home and remembered that I needed to do my 5 minute meditation before bed.  I just kept drifting from my meditation wishing it was over because my back hurt.  Again another 5 minute eternity.  Good smelling candle though-kuddos Ram.  Sleep-4 hours-that was all I could afford.  Meditate again.  Went by faster-had to really focus on my breathing because I was feeling stress about the afternoon of homework, piano lessons, house chores, and yoga group tonight.....oh and then back to work.  Got most of my afternoon business done.  Noticed I had already dropped 4 pounds-I am sure it is in the puddle of sweat I had on my mat.

Now off to 40 days to Personal Revolution meeting at the studio........

No comments:

Post a Comment