Seriously.....a speedo?
Day 18-Thursday October 7,2010
Began my day at 5:30am meeting my friend Tonya for spinning class. Needed a little friend time and if I had to get up at 5:30am and pedal a bike to nowhere for an hour so be it. Got to catch up a little bit between jumps and sprints. The room actually seemed cool to me and I didn't sweat near as much as I used to. Kinda felt cheated to work out for an hour and not be wringing with sweat. A friend sent me a web site link where you could go for a free week of yoga so I decided to try Bikram since it was so close to me. Off I went to the 8:30 class. Walked in and the reception area seemed like a spa or salon. They seemed very nice and I actually saw minivans in the parking lot. They showed me where the studio was and I walked in. First thing I noticed was a big stage and it had a machine on it blowing steam into the air. Hello frizzy ball hair. The temperature in the studio was super hot....like 100 degrees. Very uncomfortable. I am used to a studio that is about 90-93 degrees. Kinda felt like hell. Also the studio was carpeted. How are they gonna mop up my sweat funk? Next thing I noticed was alot of the people had on very little clothes. Like jog bra and tight bikini bottom lookin hot pants. Okay......I WILL NEVER EVER DRESS LIKE THAT for yoga. Don't they know I have had multiple children?!? I was a little alarmed that I didn't know the secret handshake and was supposed to put my mat in a certain spot. The instructor already figured out who I was and she new my name. They must be forewarned to watch the newbies and make sure they don't wind up passed out on the floor or wind up in a fetal ball crying "Uncle". Class started major weird. Thought Baptiste breathing was weird....he has nothing on Bikram. They did some hold your hands under your chin and flap your elbows like a bird breathing. It was all I could do not to laugh. Class was okay. Yoga seemed a little chopping. I am used to the nice flow of Baptiste. I can't believe I got through class without one down dog. At the end they end they did some pant like a dog shake your belly cleansing breathing. Soooooo funny. I WILL NEVER DO THAT EITHER! After class they gave me a nice iced raspberry tea and the instructor was very complimentary and invited me back. Not sure about that. At least I didn't have to ommmm but I found Bikram to be very pretzel like and not one block to help with the postures. I will say they have a stinkin nice dressing room though and showers!!!!!

No comments:
Post a Comment