Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Back on track

Well, got a little derailed with my trip to UArk.  Tried to eat decent.  Didn't go off the rails, but wasn't the best either.  Didn't gain nor loose, but getting back in the swing.  Hit the gym today and felt great.  I have decided this may be a slow process,but slow and steady finishes the race.  Am starting to discover that sleep plays a huge part in my eating choices.  The less sleep I have the less will power I have.  Already feeling like this summer is racing by.  Trying to get two kids ready for college and my super social third one.  Trying to make each day count and get as much done as I can.  Hoping to try and get into a groove for summer soon.  Still the goal is below 150 by July 1.  Only 5 more lbs.  Below 140 by Aug 1 and last five pounds by Sept. 1st. 

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Catching Up

Well, finally coming out of the crazy busy graduation season.  Eating has been back on track.  Still down 4 lbs from my starting weight.  Getting workouts in too.  Weight has kinda stabilized so gonna have to up my workouts to get the scale to move.  This always happens on biggest loser, so I won't get discouraged.  Starting to get my full 8 hours of sleep which is amazing.  No news naps (I always doze off on the couch during the news).  Slight challenge ahead....traveling today through Saturday.  Seeing my sister in Fort Worth this evening and then heading to UArk for freshmen orientation.  Shouldn't be too big of a challenge.  Healthy options are offered everywhere.  Won't be much time for workouts, so I am counting on all the walking I will be doing to help.  Will only miss workouts Thursday and Friday.  Goal is just not to gain anything.  I am good with just holding on to my 4 lb weight loss.  Goal is to get below 150 by end of June.  Pretty doable since I am at 154.  Just 5 more lbs.  Doing more walking these days.  Way more enjoyable and easier on the joints. Adding in some gym workouts too.  I will report back on Sunday as to how I faired on the trip.  May have one spurge at Burton's ice cream.  Its amazing.  We shall see if there is time.  Plans of eating include Subway on the drive and Chick-fil-a has grilled options that are pretty tasty.

Sunday, June 3, 2018

Late Day 5

Alright.....gonna get the elephant out of the room.  I did eat Lupes and have margaritas and grad cake.  I didn't go completely off the rails, but didn't really stay to my plan.  It was kinda of a stressful day.  Barely made it to graduation, despite leaving at 10:30 am.  Wasn't walking in NRG until after 12.  Processional had already started, but didn't miss seeing my girl walk in.  Already had decided after being stuck in traffic that I was going to have a margarita.  By the time we finally got food it was after 3:30pm.  I had only a cup of coffee and a slice of toast.  I was ready to chew my arm off.  Decided what the heck, after the first margarita to have a second know full well I would have a post Lupe's headache......but sure did enjoy celebrating my girl's high school graduation.  Only ate one beef fijita, a litte rice, but I think the chips got me.  Good to be full and happy though at least for the moment.  Had a small piece of cake.  Okay.....cheat meal.  Went to the first grad party and didn't eat....yay me.  Went to second grad party still feeling pretty full.  Had a glass of wine.....maybe 1/2 of a second and some lean meat.  Didn't feel like I had gone off the deep end, but did feel sluggish with a dull headache.  Was hoping my scale didn't freak out on me.  Got up this morning and was up a pound.  Not bad.  Going with the water weight theory.  Got right back on my eating plan.  I can drop that by Monday and end week one with 4 lb weight loss.  I will take it.  My sleep is really lacking today.  Less than 6 hours last night.....argghhhh.  One more grad party today.  Need to work in a run, walk, or ride on the bike later this evening.  Feeling kinda drained from all the craziness.

Friday, June 1, 2018

Day 4 Down 4

Got on the scale this morning and already dropped 4 lbs.  Amazing.  Got off and on the scale several times to confirm.  Stuck to my eating plan yesterday and even ate a Subway sandwhich with baked chips.  Noticed my jeans might be less tight today.  Good feeling when you are on track.  Such a busy day yesterday closing out school.  Didn't get to exercise and slept like crap, but summer is upon us.  Hoping to get to goal and never have to do this again.  Plan to work out a lot this summer.  I know the weight loss will slow in the coming weeks, but hoping to kick up my workouts to help.  I hate tight clothes and can't wait til they feel loose again.  Hoping tomorrow just to focus on the event (graduation), having family around, and less on food and what I might be missing.  I feel like there is always an excuse to blow it, but no one will even care if I don't drink a margarita or indulge.  My family will probably be happy cause it will mean more for them.....lol.  Honestly feeling on track is way better than the hour of gratification from stuffing myself and then feeling guilty after.  I will prevail.  Blogging and knowing a few of my friends are holding me accountable helps.  Probably won't blog til after the graduation festivities end. 

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

3 three down and 95 to go

Here I sit at the end of day 3 feeling slightly hungry, but am I really or just bored? TV stinks most of the time and I think I eat out of boredom.  Stayed within my calories although by 4pm I still had alot of my calories still left to eat.  I am addicted to garlic hummus with pretzels.  Weird craving but I could eat it all day long.  Actually had two packages today.  Did eat an orange.  I am kinda a bland, eat the same thing all the time kind of eater.  I go off the rails when I am eating out.  Not sure if its a coping mechanism or what.  I do plan to try every so hard to not blow it Saturday.  I love how I feel when I know I am on track. Decided to just do a 30 minute walk tonight.  I am a 50 year old woman and if I don't want to run, I don't have to.  Was relaxing since the hubby joined me.  I am noticing my knees pop like crazy walking down stairs....no pain....just crazy crepitus.  Also starting to notice a few aches here and there, but I am refusing to give them any attention.  Maybe aging denial.  Planning to try and get another 8 hours of sleep.  Its amazing when I do.  I really do think we would all be better off with more rest. Still really stressing about trying to stay on track Saturday.  Seems wrong not to celebrate Hannah's graduation with a margarita but I know no one else will even care if I order a Diet Coke.  I know I can do it.  There will be plenty of them in my future, just need to say no cause once I start drink then I start eating (to soak up the alcohol right?).   I can do it.  Made it 3 days and pretty sure it will show up on the scale!

Day 2 late summary

Well I ended day one with a trip to Connie's Custard.  It was Ram's birthday and he wanted the entire family to come.  It wasn't much of a temptation, since I don't really like things that sweet.  Ram got me a diet coke and I was perfectly content.  Again, no one really cares if you eat or not.  I did notice that I focused more on what was going on around me than on missing out on eating.  Felt very successful.  Went to bed later than I wanted too, but school is almost out so I didn't have to be on my A game to watch students take finals.  Got up the morning of day 2 (less than 7 hours of sleep....blah) feeling great.  Didn't even seem tired. Down a pound.  Stayed on my eating plan.  Got tons accomplished at work.  Wanted to just lay around on the couch, but knew I didn't want to not have any exercise to post on day 2.  I would be a freaking loser if I did, so I got off the couch and rode 30 minutes on the stationary bike.  We have it right to the side of our living room so we can watch TV with the family and get our exercise on.  Proud of myself.  Also trying to make an effort to not work or be on my screens later in the evening.  Decided to get in bed early to try to make the 8 hours of sleep recommended.  Trying to not use anything to help me sleep, but did last night so I could crash early.  Got a full 8 hours, but was pretty groggy this morning.  Took me almost 20 minutes to drag myself out of bed.  Dropped another pound too.  Down to 156!  Hoping to get below 150 before vacation at the end of June.  Seems doable.  Below 140 before August and stay there.  Yes, I know must of this weight loss is water, but once I watch my diet I usually have no problem dropping weight.  Big accomplishment yesterday was I ate an orange.  Not a big fruit fan......they are too sweet.  Now to kick up the fruits and veggies part.  Also, more protein.  Biggest challenge ahead is Saturday after graduation.  Why are so many life events centered around eating?  Why do we always celebrate with food?   It is programed into us from a young age.  Food shouldn't be a reward.  It is just a needed to live and fuel our bodies.  Why not celebrate with fun things that are good for us....like massages, trips, or dancing?  Seems we need something to do with ourselves and also many of us need social lubrication because we are uncomfortable talking to each other. Putting yourself out there was already hard enough and now our screens have blocked us from connecting with each other.  Woah....how did I get on that rant?  Well bottom line is that we celebrate with eating and maybe we should focus on what or who we are celebrating more that the food and alcohol.  Dang, but eating and drinking is so pleasurable.   Ughhhhhh!!!!!!

Monday, May 28, 2018

DAY 1

"The hardest part of any journey is taking the first step" -unknown.
Well today started with a reality check....the scale.  Everyone has that weight where
they feel amazing.....for me it is below 140 (I go with the muscle weighs more that fat rule and I assume I am very muscular).   Everyone also has that weight where they know something needs to be done.  Clothes are too tight.   You feel uncomfortable.  For me that weight is 160.  150 is when I start really becoming concerned that my clothes won't fit.  I was 136 when I got married and felt amazing.
My goal is to get below 140.  So I got up after an amazing night of sleep (almost 10 hours-I was a little behind) and hit the scale.  Took everything off cause you know clothes adds 2 lbs to see what the state of the union was.  Drum roll..........158.  Not as bad as a thought.  20 lbs by Labor Day seems doable.  Exercise has never been an issue so I biked for 30 minutes at home then hit the gym on the elliptical for 20 minutes in cardio mode (its killer-only cut off once cause I could keep up with the resistance).  That is when you look around to make sure no one is watching.  Then did some weights.  I resisted the urge to scream at the ladies scrolling on their phones sitting on the equipment I wanted to use.  I don't understanding coming to the gym to sit on equipment and read your phone.  Leave it in the car people.  Sorry for the tangent.  Workout done.  Nutrition was in range today.....ate 1297 calories with still having an extra 400 calories if I want to chew my arm off later this weekend.  Pretty easy to stick to my diet.  Did try to eat more protein.  Not so successful with fruits and veggies.  I did drink a V-8 so that should count for something.  Biggest obstacle on the horizon is graduation Saturday.  Lupes, RJ Goodies cake, and grad parties.  Planning to get up early Saturday and do a long run.....just in case I cave at Lupes.  One thing I have noticed at social events......no one cares what you eat or drink.....just yourself.  We will see what happens Saturday.  Took myself to the pool for some UV therapy.  Memorial day for me has always marked the start of summer and there has always been something very relaxing and pleasurable about baking like a turkey by the water.  I was not super excited about my swim dress this year.  Yes it was great coverage, but I felt like a grandma in it.  I vow to get a better looking suit by July and the bikini by Labor day.  Closed out my fitness pal diary by 5pm so that signal I am done for today......let's hope that is true.